Modern is a non rotating constructed format where you build decks using cards from expansion sets and core sets from Eighth Edition forward. So the modern format include all cards that have been printed in a core set or expansion set using the modern card frame.


  • Eight Edition
  • Mirrodin
  • Darksteel
  • Fifth Dawn
  • Champions of Kamigawa
  • Betrayers of Kamigawa
  • Saviors of Kamigawa
  • Ninth Edition
  • Ravnica: City of Guilds
  • Guildpact
  • Dissension
  • Coldsnap
  • Time Spiral
  • Planar Chaos
  • Future Sight
  • Tenth Edition
  • Lorwyn
  • Morningtide
  • Shadowmoor
  • Eventide
  • Shards of Alara
  • Conflux
  • Alara Reborn
  • Magic 2010
  • Zendikar
  • Worldwake
  • Rise of the Eldrazi
  • Magic 2011
  • Scars of Mirrodin
  • Mirrodin Besieged
  • New Phyrexia
  • Magic 2012
  • Innistrad
  • Dark Ascension
  • Avacyn Restored
  • Magic 2013
  • Return to Ravnica
  • Gatecrash
  • Dragon’s Maze
  • Magic 2014
  • Theros
  • Born of the Gods
  • Journey into Nyx
  • Magic 2015
  • Khans of Tarkir
  • Fate Reforged
  • Dragons of Tarkir
  • Magic Origins
  • Battle for Zendikar
  • Oath of the Gatewatch
  • Shadows over Innistrad
  • Eldritch Moon
  • Kaladesh
  • Aether Revolt (From January 2017)

† This includes timeshifted cards (even if printed in the older frame).

Tip & Tricks: Some cards in Modern have alternate versions or were also printed in older sets, and it’s okay to use those cards in your deck. If you’re not sure about a card, look it up on or Gatherer.

In Modern we have Banned Cards.

Banned Cards

For the complete list of Banned Cards check out this link: Modern Banned Cards


  • Your deck must be at least 60 cards.
  • Up to fifteen cards may be included in your sideboard, if you use one.
  • You must include no more than four copies of any individual card in your main deck and sideboard combined (except basic lands).
  • There’s no maximum deck size, as long as you can shuffle your deck in your hands unassisted.

† Note: The five snow-covered lands from the Ice Age block—Snow-Covered Plains, Snow-Covered Island, Snow-Covered Swamp, Snow-Covered Mountain, and Snow-Covered Forest—are also basic lands. Snow-covered lands are only permitted in formats that allow expansions from the Ice Age block (so, they are legal in Modern).



  • Skred Red
  • Knight Retreat Combo
  • Spirits Death & Taxes
  • Death’s Shadow Aggro
  • 5 Colors Human
  • Jeskai Tempo
  • Grixis Control
  • Enchantress
  • Jeskai Ascendancy Combo
  • Dredge
  • Grixis Goryo’s Vengeance
  • Ad Nauseam
  • R/G Breach Titan
  • W/B Hate Bears
  • 8 Rack
  • U/R Metallurgic Summonings
  • R/W Land Destruction
  • Jeskai Flyers